NFL MVP Watch: Jan. 27

Story posted January 27, 2022 in Sports, CommRadio by Christian Smith

The 2021 NFL Most Valuable Player award race is just about at its end, as a winner will be selected on Thursday, Feb. 10, 2022.

Several players have a legitimate chance of winning the NFL's most prestigious individual player award. So, without further ado, here's a look at the top three players in this year's NFL MVP race.

1. Aaron Rodgers, QB Green Bay Packers

All signs are pointing to Aaron Rodgers winning the NFL MVP Award for the second-straight season and the fourth time in his legendary career.

Rodgers had another stellar season in Green Bay, which consisted of him completing 69 percent of his passes for 4,115 yards, 37 touchdown passes and just four interceptions. Rodgers' four interceptions were the lowest out of all starting quarterbacks in the league.

In addition, Rodgers finished with an outstanding quarterback rating of 111.9 -- which was also a league-best.

He also led his team to 13 wins for the third straight season, but the Packers were upset by the sixth seed San Francisco 49ers, 13-10, in the Divisional Round, ending their season far sooner than many expected.

Despite the early postseason exit, Rodgers was named 2021 NFL MVP by Pro Football Writers of America.

2. Tom Brady, QB Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Like Rodgers, Tom Brady enjoyed a big season in 2021. Despite being 44-years-old, Brady put up more passing yards (5,316) than he ever has before in his entire career.

He led the league in both passing yards and passing touchdowns (43), which was the second-most he has thrown in a single season.

Brady was able to put up these ridiculous stats during a season in which several of his top receivers have dealt with injuries.

Many believe that Brady's MVP chances were doomed following a 9-0 shutout loss to Buccaneer's division rival, the New Orleans Saints back on Dec. 19.

Still, Tom Brady has a legitimate shot to receive the fourth NFL MVP award of his career.

3. Cooper Kupp, WR Los Angeles Rams

This last one is pretty interesting, considering a non-quarterback has not been awarded the NFL MVP Award since 2012 when Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson won the award after rushing for 2,097 yards and 12 touchdowns.

In 2021, Cooper Kupp caught 145 passes for a stupendous 1,947 receiving yards and 16 touchdowns.

If the Rams go on to win Super Bowl LVI, their fans will never forget his game-saving 44-yard reception in the final seconds of the team's Divisional Round game at Tampa Bay.

That catch set up a Matt Gay game-winning field goal as time expired as the Rams advanced to the NFC Championship Game.

Despite a long shot, Kupp will still be considered for this year's award and likely years to come.

Prediction: Aaron Rodgers

Christian Smith is a fourth-year majoring in broadcast journalism. To contact him, email